The Barbados Annual Construction and Design Conference Women in Construction Award acknowledges women who contribute significantly to architecture and construction in Barbados and the region. The award consists of two categories:

Women Architects and Designers:

Recognizing positive contributions to the field of architecture, professional achievements, and lifelong commitment to the profession.

Women in Construction & Engineering:

Recognizing excellence as contractors, project managers, engineers, quantity surveyors, or construction law professionals.


Recognize Achievements

Celebrate women's success in all areas of construction.

Showcase Contributions

Highlight academic, technical, vocational, and professional contributions to the built environment.

Encourage Participation

Motivate women working in architecture, design, and construction.

Inspire Future Generations

Challenge the status quo and inspire others to explore careers in traditional skills or professions.

How to Participate

Eligibility Criteria:

Open to women who are citizens of Barbados, employed in architecture, design, and construction, or those living abroad with a direct impact on the region.

The winner will be chosen based on career achievements, social responsibilities, and contributions to architecture and construction in Barbados and the Caribbean.

Criteria for Nominees

Potential candidates include architects, designers, engineers, land surveyors, project managers, contractors, site workers, and construction administrators. Candidates can be nominated by employers, senior team members or clients. Key evaluation points include:


Positive effects on the built environment.

Scale and Significance

Magnitude and importance of projects.

Dedication and Legacy

Sustained contributions and lasting influence.

Excellence, Innovation, and Creativity

Ingenuity and problem-solving skills.

The Judges

Nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges who will select award recipients based on submission evidence and reports from the shortlisting panel.

Award Presentation

The winners will receive the Woman in Construction Award in their respective areas during the Barbados Annual Construction and Design Conference's Opening Ceremony.

Key Dates

Registration and Submission: June 10 to July 24, 2024

Judging Period: July 25 to August 22, 2024

Shortlisting Notification: August 26, 2024

Winners’ Announcement: September 24, 2024


Architecture & Design:

This award recognizes female architects and designers who demonstrate outstanding design, innovation, and visionary impact. Nominees must have:

5+ years of post-grad experience.

Played a pivotal role in at least one significant construction project in the past 18 months.

Women in Construction

This award recognizes women who maintain high levels of service as principal contractors. Nominees must have:

5+ years of post-grad experience.

Played a pivotal role in at least one significant construction project in the past 18 months.

Submit Now!

Submission Requirements

Career Summary: Overview of career milestones and achievements.

Impact: Contribution to organizational growth and success.

Excellence: Skills, leadership, and innovation in projects.

Sample Project: Highlight a recent project detailing the role and success.

Supporting Testimonials: Testimonials from senior professionals.

Candidate Background Information

Biography of Nominee

Please provide a brief bio of the nominee and a statement as to why this candidate should win.

Social Responsibility 

Awards, Certificates, or Recognitions


© 2024 TVET Council Barbados. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyTerms of Use